This is the "Home" page of the "Bibles & Bible Study Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bibles & Bible Study Tools  

The Word of God. Read It Personally & Study It Online.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2017 URL: http://swcu.libguides.com/bible Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Bibles and Bible Study Tools

You Version Bible: Impacting The World Through Relationships With God

Includes Various Bible Versions, Reading Plans, Videos, Personal Notes, Live/Groups, and Links To Mobile Programs.  With over one million downloads, YouVersion will continue to take advantage of new technology and new ideas, with the goal of seeing this generation become the most Bible-engaged generation in history.  On more than 100 million devices all over the world, people are reading, listening to, and sharing the Bible using this #1 rated Bible App—completely free. Hundreds of Bible versions, hundreds of reading plans, dozens of languages. Add your own highlights, bookmarks, and public or private notes.  Customize your experience for easy reading.  A unique feature of YouVersion is the integration with local churches where weekly information and links to sermons, etc. may be uploaded and used as an electronic Bible tool during the service.

Blue Letter Bible: Bible Study Tools & Aids To Encourage the Body of Christ.

The Blue Letter Bible has over 1,100,000 links from the Word of God to over 85,000 pages of concordances, lexicons, dictionaries and commentaries! The idea of the Blue Letter Bible is that serious Bible study ought to start with the Bible. Therefore, the Blue Letter Bible starts with the Bible being the browser of other Bible study aids, such as commentaries. Verses that have study aids currently attached to them will be "blued" in the Bible. The "blueing" is accomplished by creating hyper-links from the verses to the study aids. References in the commentaries and other study aids will also be "blued." This allows for easy navigation between the Bible, study aids and back to the Bible. Interlinear Hebrew and Greek for every verse!

All-In-One Biblical Resources Search: A MegaSearch Engine To Biblical Studies

This site is divided into six sections:  Bible versions & translations, Greek New Testament, Biblical resource sites, Ancient world, General Academic & Religion, and Email list archives.  It was developed by Dr. Mark Goodacre, University of Birmingham.

Bible Study Tools: Growing Deeper In The Word

Search one of the Web's largest libraries of online Bible study resources.  Includes: 30+ Bible Translations (New International Version, English Standard Version, King James Version, New American Standard, and many more!).  Also includes: Commentaries, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Parallel Bible, and Interlinear Bible.

My Study Bible: An Apologetics Study Bible

The site offers the HCSB, an online Bible that is really easy to use.  Although you can’t access other translations, you can still use other sites such as “youversion” to access other translations.  There are a number of other Bible study tools:  Study Bible Notes Tool (These are insightful and brief comments tailored to each text.  They often discuss the background or cultural setting of a text, share insight into the biblical language used);  Word Study Tool (This is a tool that allows you to look deeper into particular words in the scripture, their original language, pronunciation, and translation);  Topical Concordance Tool (This is a tool that allows you to search the Bible using topical key words to find relevant texts);  Dictionary Tool (This is a really convenient Bible Dictionary which will allow you to dig deeper into the definitions and backgrounds of the words in each text);  Pronunciation Tool (Can’t figure out how that word should be pronounced…maybe hearing it will help);  Commentary Tool (A collection of some of the best commentaries available);  Footnotes Tool (Alternate words, related scriptures, brief explanations for every time your study Bible has a footnote);  and, Video Player (Watch a brief devotion or sermon based on the text you are studying for additional insight).

StudyLight.Org: Gateway To Bible Study Tools & Resources

StudyLight.org is a well-respected site for studying God's word.  Today the site hosts more Bibles and study resources than most Bible software packages.  Includes: Bible study tools, original language tools, historical writings, pastoral tools, personal tools, and study groups.  The next generation of StudyLight is being developed and will blur the boundaries between website and Bible software.

The Bible Hub: Search, Read, Study

The Bible Hub is an online parallel Bible with search and study tools, including parallel texts, cross references and commentaries. This site provides quick access to topical studies, interlinears, sermons, Strong's and many more resources.  The mission of the developers is to:  1) Increase the visibility and accessibility of the Scriptures online, and, 2) Provide free access to Bible study tools in many languages, and, 3) Promote the Gospel of Christ through the learning, study and application of God's word.  Includes a Chinese parallel Bible. 

The Unbound Bible: Study Parallel Versions of the Bible

The Unbound Bible Tools, from Biola University, is an open source, multilingual Bible-reader program. This is fast and effective way to explore bibles from The Unbound Bible project.  The Unbound Bible Tools has a simple and intuitive interface that allows you to quickly access all its features.

World Wide Study Bible - Links To Various Commentaries

From Christian Classics Ethereal Library.  The World Wide Study Bible was conceived as a means of organizing all of the Bible-related resources on the World Wide Web according to scripture reference. Because of the nature of the World Wide Web and the large number of potential contributors, it is possible to index an enormous number and wide variety of resources -- commentaries, meditations, sermons, pictures, word studies, musical settings, historical or archeologic notes -- anything that is relevant.

Bible Notes: Summarized With Easy To Read Review Notes

The entire Holy Bible is summarized with easy-to-read review notes and keypoints, useful for everyone and a resource for Bible study. Now with Google Translator.  Everyone should learn something about the Bible, regardless of his religious preferences. The Bible presents a historical religion and is very difficult to read and understand. For these reasons, the Biblenotes were written as a compilation of important points from the viewpoint of a scientist/engineer/researcher. There has been no attempt to discuss or debate these points, merely to present them in summarized fashion.  The summaries took one year to complete. Millions of readers have used this site for information, education and review. 

Laridian Bible (Download For Your iPad, iPhone & iPad Touch

PocketBible for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch gives you everything you need for Bible study or casual  reading. The same program runs on either iPhone or iPad, adjusting the user interface to give you convenient access to all its features regardless of the size of the screen.  PocketBible is available free on the App Store and includes 40 classic Bibles and reference titles to get you started studying the Bible on your iPhone or iPad.   Apps are also available for Android phones & tablets, Windows phones & tablets, Blackberry phones & tablets, Palm phones & tablets, and the desktop Windows PC or MAC OSX

My Sword Bible (Download Only For Android Cellphones & Tablets)

With MySword, you can study the Bible, compare different translations, lookup Strong's Hebrew and Greek Lexicon, read popular commentaries, Bible dictionaries, books, maps, and even write your own insights and study notes directly on your Android device offline (the Internet connection is only needed when downloading modules). Bible study has never been this fun and easy.

Bible Research

Bible Research at www.bible-researcher.com is a free educational site for students of the Bible.  Michael Marlowe, the editor, has either written or edited much of the material on the site.  He has also added a few articles by reliable scholars, most of them in the public domain and others by permission.  The editor, who is conservative and Reformed, states that the material may not be used for any commercial purpose or uploaded to another website without his permission.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip