This is the home page for the Springer Learning Center / Library at Southwestern Christian University. Click Gold Boxes Or Various Web Links Below To Access Learning And Library Resources & Services.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017
- Alex Catalog of Electronic Texts
This is a collection of public domain and open access documents with a focus on American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Its purpose is to help facilitate a person’s liberal arts education.
The pre-eminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the Web, free of charge.
- Ebscohost Book Collection: Nonfiction: High School Edition
Contains informative abstracts and searchable full-text for more than 2, 440 popular nonfiction books. Includes high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics, and more.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
This resource is a collection of digital ebooks created from the collections of major research libraries. Thousands of public domain works can be searched and viewed online. (Tip: To see only full text titles, search for your topic first. Then click Full view on the left side of the results page.)
- LibriVox (AudioBooks): acoustical liberation of books in the public domain (free access)
Listen to free audiobooks from the public domain.
More than 29,000 ebooks for Kindle, Nook, iPad, and most other ebook readers. Free access.
- Online Books Page from the University of Pennsylvania
35,000 free books on the Web includes listings of women writers, banned books, Prize winners, etc.
- Open Library - E-Book Lending Library
There's a growing, cooperative pool of eBooks contributed by 1,000 libraries* participating in the In-Library Lending program. Head to any of the libraries in the pool, log in to the WiFi, and you'll get access to a special set of over 100,000 eBooks. It's like an instant, hassle-free interlibrary eBook loan!
- Project Gutenberg E-Books: Over 43,000 E-Books Available
Indexed by categories. The site, the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet, provides full-text of thousands of e-books that are produced by hundreds of volunteers. Most of the Project Gutenberg eBooks are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States.
- Renascence Editions Collection
Renascence Editions is an effort to make available online works printed in English between the years 1477 (when Caxton began printing) and 1799. These texts have been produced with care and attention.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States (2011), published with statistics from the U.S. Census since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.