- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
3500 high quality images of people, places, and animals plus 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries in Africa.
- American Civil War Collections
Primary documents include letters, diaries, and legal texts in the Electronic Text Center.
- American Heritage Project from Berkeley Digital Library
The Project is creating a shared database of EAD-encoded finding aids describing and providing access to collections documenting American history and culture.
- American Memory
Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Early Photography in Greece and the Mediterrean
19th- and early 20th century photographs of ancient Greek and Roman art and architecture from the Getty Research Institute's collections.
- British Library's Turning the Pages Online Gallery (virtual books)
See the Lisbon Hebrew Bible (15th century), Baybar's Magnificent Qur'an with wonderful Arabic calligraphy, and the Bible from Ethiopia commissioned around 1700.
- CalPhotos (California)
Browse a collection of 226, 436 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world. Some copyright restrictions.
- Chicano Art - California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives
See thousands of digital cultural and visual art images from the Chicano/Latino community.
- Digital Libraries - Oklahoma State University Library
Digitized Collections about Oklahoma Yesterday and Today, American Indian Law, and Oklahoma Science and Nature.
- Digital Libraries - University of Oklahoma
Digital books and collections from the Library of the University of Oklahoma.
- Digital Public Library of America
Far more than a search engine, the portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner.
- Digital Repository - Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Western Oklahoma History of SWOSU and Weatherford. Includes Digitized Books Of Rare Titles, Including "A Physical Directory; or a Translation of the Dispensatory" (Pharmacology History) From 1651.
- Global Gateway: World Cultures
See digital collections on the Atlantic World, Meeting of the Frontiers, and individual digital International collections such as Cuneiform Tablets, Islamic Manuscripts, Lewis Carroll Scrapbook, Nazi Manuscript Collection, and more.
- Historical Voices Galleries
Fully searchable database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century. Includes Earliest Voices iwth sound recordings from 1877-1927; Stud Terkel's Conversations with America, OYEZ Project (U.S. Supreme Court);History and Politics Out Loud; and the African Digital Library.
- Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
- National Science Digital Library
Nation's online library for education, and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics. Most content is free.
- New York Public Library's Digital Library
See and hear the digital collections from NYPL. Includes Treasures of New York, NYPL's Google Books, African American Women Writers of 19th Century and After Columbus.
- Nuremberg Trial Project: A Digital Document Collection
Nearly 1 million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).
- PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources
Includes more than six thousand professionally selected, catalogued, and annotated online resources within 25 different subtopic areas including agriculture, economy, education, gender, history, human rights, law, news and media, popular culture, science, and transportation.
- Philadelphia 1876 Centennial Exhibition Digital Collection
Web version of the 100th birthday party for the United States. See unique collection of silver albumen photographs of buildings, machinery, outdoor sculptures seen in Philadelphia in 1876.
- Smithsonian Institution Libraries
The Smithsonian Libraries' physical collections cover subjects ranging from Art to Zoology and everything in between - a diversity that reflects the research that goes on "behind the scenes" here at the Smithsonian in our Museums, Zoological Park and Research Centers. Scanning is ongoing, and new material is being added quarterly. All material available here, and through Biodiversity Heritage Library are in the Public Domain unless otherwise noted, and are therefore free to download, use, re-use, and re-mix without regard to copyright.
- War Poster Collection - Digital Collections at University of Washington
A selection of World War I and II posters include propaganda on purchasing war bonds, the importance of national security, etc.