E-booksDigital LibrariesUsing Other Academic LibrariesAudio Books
Oklahoma FactsU.S. Government WebsitesStatistics
Copyright for InstructorsAcademic Video Resources
Information Literacy Class 01: Welcome To The Information FogInformation Literacy Class 02: Taking ChargeInformation Literacy Class 03: Database Searching With Keywords & HierarchiesInformation Literacy Class 04: Metadata and the Power of Controlled VocabulariesInformation Literacy Class 05: Discovery Searches, Library Catalogs and Journal DatabasesInformation Literacy Class 06: Internet ResearchInformation Literacy Class 07: Other Resources and Case Studies In ResearchInformation Literacy Class 08: Learning How To Read For ResearchInformation Literacy Class 09: Organizing Your Resources To Write Your PaperInformation Literacy Class 10: Tips On Research WritingInformation Literacy Class 11: A Research Paper Clinic
This is the "Audio Books" page of the "Springer Learning Center - Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Springer Learning Center - Library  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2017 URL: http://swcu.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Audio Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Free Audio Books

Busy times call for some workarounds. One of the distinct advantages of audio books over its more physical form is that it saves time. Audio books take away a sliver of fun from the enjoyment of a book, but if the voiceover is well done, it makes up for it.  With the explosion of personal media players like iPods and even mobile phones which can carry media files, even a routine walk can be turned into an education.  The search for audio books may not always get you the title you want. Even then, you can get a few gems when you go searching. So, where do you go searching for free audio books to download and enjoy?  To the following audio book websites, of course.

  • AudioBooks For Free
    MP3, iPOD and DVD audiobooks (adventures, detectives, horrors, classics, children, non-fictions, philosophy, etc.) for you to download and enjoy. Every audio book produced and recorded by professional actors/narrators and experienced directors. No computerised text-to-voice convertions have been used. Listen to our mp3 audio books on your computer, mobile phone, PDA, PSP, CD-MP3 portable player, portable MP3 player, portable DVD player or even on iPod. Alternatively, convert our mp3-files into ordinary audio CD for your CD player, hi-fi or car stereo.
  • Books Should Be Free
    At this address you get free audio books in multiple genres and languages. You can check out the Top 100, drill through the genres, or use the Google search at the top to get the free audio book for download. Downloads are available in mp3 and iTunes format. The books are mostly classical literature and very well organized with reviews and a small preview. You can also check out the Wikipedia links on the book and the author.
  • Historical Voices Gallery
    Fully searchable database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century. Includes Earliest Voices iwth sound recordings from 1877-1927; Stud Terkel's Conversations with America, OYEZ Project (U.S. Supreme Court);History and Politics Out Loud; and the African Digital Library.
  • Learn Out Loud
    Your resource for audio and visual learning on the web and on-the-go. Browse the Net's largest Catalog of educational audio book downloads, podcasts, & free audio & video.
  • LibriVox
    LibriVox is a repository of free audio books in the public domain. It is a volunteer driven site, where enthusiasts record freely available books and make them available as MP3 downloads or podcasts. http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/easy-listening-pleasures-10-websites-free-audio-book-downloads/
  • NewFiction.Com
    NewFiction.com is one of the better “˜lookers’ in the class of free audio book websites. Perhaps, because it’s about “˜iSoaps’ or fictionalized stories delivered in episodes daily. Stories are voiced by trained dramatic actors for your aural appeal. You can subscribe to the “˜iSoaps’ and play episodes online, get it as a podcast, or download it to your PC or your portable device (iPod, cell phone etc).
  • Open Culture
    The best free cultural & educational media on the web. Audio books are just one of the sections covered on this site which focuses on educational media collected from other sites. You get to download free courses from universities in MP3 format, language lessons as podcasts, and a variety of other podcasts that cover subjects like technology, travel, music, science, and more.
  • Podiobooks
    Podiobooks is a similar episodic audio rendition of free audio books as podcasts. Like lot of podcasts, you can receive them as RSS feeds or download them directly. The number of categories is well covered from alternative history to chick lit and satire. The audio book site has about 434 titles in its stock.
  • Project Gutenberg: The Audio Books Project - Computer Generated
    Project Gutenberg is the ongoing effort to digitize and archive cultural works in the form of eBooks. It also works in co-operation with websites like LibriVox and AudioBooksForFree for creating audio books. As a result, you can browse through their comprehensive list of human and machine read audio books. You can go through the list alphabetically for author and title. Audio books are also available in a number of languages. But the quicker way would be to use the Advanced Search page.
  • Project Gutenberg: The Audio Books Project - Human Read
    Project Gutenberg is the ongoing effort to digitize and archive cultural works in the form of eBooks. It also works in co-operation with websites like LibriVox and AudioBooksForFree for creating audio books. As a result, you can browse through their comprehensive list of human and machine read audio books. You can go through the list alphabetically for author and title. Audio books are also available in a number of languages. But the quicker way would be to use the Advanced Search page.
  • StoryNory: Free Audio Stories For Kids
    Children's Stories that Adults Can Enjoy Too. Storynory has published a free audio story every week since November 2005. All our stories are beautifully read by professional actors. We have books and poems by classic authors. We have fairytales from around the world. We have myths and legends. And we have a host of original stories including Prince Bertie the Frog, Katie the Witch, and Astropup.
  • Thought Audio
    ThoughtAudio is a neat little audio book website with a neat collection of classical works. You can listen to them online or download them in segments. You can also view the written text of some of the books as a PDF download.
  • Verkaro.Org
    Formerly Literal.org, Verkaro.org is a Santa Fe, New Mexico group creating original audiobook recordings. We are building a reputation for producing quality and unique recordings, easily accessible online, with a friendly attitude toward downloading. Most people don't know it takes a fair amount of effort. From beginning to end the steps include material preparation, auditioning, rehearsing, recording (multiple takes), editing, recording pickups, more editing, mastering, encoding and publishing. Depending on the depth of production it takes anywhere between 20 to 30 hours for every hour of published recording.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip