Library CatalogE-booksDigital LibrariesOther Libraries / OK-SHAREAudio Book Sites
Statewide Databases By SubjectNewspapers
Quick Facts A to ZOklahoma FactsU.S. Government WebsitesEncyclopedias (specialized)DictionariesStatisticsQuotationsWebsites by Subject
Resources For Faculty Excellence & InformationCopyright Information For Academic ClassroomsFaculty Borrowing PrivilegesAcademic Video Resources
Videos About Jesus ChristBible Study & Christian Resources
Information Literacy Class 01: Welcome To The Information FogInformation Literacy Class 02: Taking ChargeInformation Literacy Class 03: Database Searching With Keywords & HierarchiesInformation Literacy Class 04: Metadata and the Power of Controlled VocabulariesInformation Literacy Class 05: Discovery Searches, Library Catalogs and Journal DatabasesInformation Literacy Class 06: Internet ResearchInformation Literacy Class 07: Other Resources and Case Studies In ResearchInformation Literacy Class 08: Learning How To Read For ResearchInformation Literacy Class 09: Organizing Your Resources To Write Your PaperInformation Literacy Class 10: Tips On Research WritingInformation Literacy Class 11: A Research Paper Clinic
Search TermsWhat is a Database?Internet TipsEvaluating Internet SourcesPopular & ScholarlyPrimary & SecondaryIncorporating SourcesWhy Cite and Citation GuidesVoice MarkersDeciphering Your AssignmentUsing Google ScholarDeconstructing CitationsUsing Wikipedia for Academic ResearchEffective Reading
This is the "Information Literacy Class 03: Database Searching With Keywords & Hierarchies" page of the "Springer Learning Center / Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Springer Learning Center / Library  

This is the home page for the Springer Learning Center / Library at Southwestern Christian University. Click Gold Boxes Or Various Web Links Below To Access Learning And Library Resources & Services.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://swcu.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Information Literacy Class 03: Database Searching With Keywords & Hierarchies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Searching: Study Guide: Answering These Questions Will Require Reading and Application of the Textbook.

1. What is a "database?"  Name a few examples of familiar databases.

2. What is a "database record?"

3. In keyword searching, what strong ability of computers is used?

4. What is a "truncation" or "wildcard?"  Give an example along with the appropriate symbol.

5. Explain the "OR command" in Boolean searching and indicate in what types of searches it works best?

6. Explain the "AND command" in Boolean searching and indicate in what types of searches it works best?

7. Explain the "NOT command" in Boolean searching and indicate in what types of searches it works best?

8. Some databases will allow you to leave out the Boolean AND, and just input keywords with spaces between them.  In other databases, if you do this the computer program will understand that you are constructing a ___________________________________?

9. Why do words by themselves have no definite meaning?  How do they get a meaning?

10. All data comes within a ______________________________________________?

11. Explain an "information hierarchy."  Choose two or three topics and illustrate how each fits into one of more hierarchies (a diagram words best for this).

12. Regarding hierarchies, in research you must know where you are ___________________  ____________________  __________________________.

13. What does it mean to say that keywords are "flat?"

14. How do clustering search tools like Yippy help to resolve the problem of the flatness of keywords?

 

Assignment For A Research Project Of Your Own

1. State a research question on a topic of your choice.  Have a good look at it and determine exactly what you want to search for.

2. Do a keyword search for books in a library catalog by:  (a) Choosing important words related to your topic, and doing searches by the words either individually or in Boolean combinations.  Include the actual searches you tried, e.g. (Skinner or behaviourism) AND Walden; and, (b) Listing 8-10 books, relevant to your topic, which you identified through your keyword search.  Keep as narrowly focused on your research question goal as possible.

 

Michael Lowder, Director of Library Services

Profile Image
Michael Lowder
Contact Info
Telephone: 405-789-7661 / x3451
Fax: 405-495-0078
Send Email
 

What Are Library Databases?

 

What is Boolean Searching?

 

Advanced Boolean Searching

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip