Library CatalogE-booksDigital LibrariesOther Libraries / OK-SHAREAudio Book Sites
Statewide Databases By SubjectNewspapers
Quick Facts A to ZOklahoma FactsU.S. Government WebsitesEncyclopedias (specialized)DictionariesStatisticsQuotationsWebsites by Subject
Resources For Faculty Excellence & InformationCopyright Information For Academic ClassroomsFaculty Borrowing PrivilegesAcademic Video Resources
Videos About Jesus ChristBible Study & Christian Resources
Information Literacy Class 01: Welcome To The Information FogInformation Literacy Class 02: Taking ChargeInformation Literacy Class 03: Database Searching With Keywords & HierarchiesInformation Literacy Class 04: Metadata and the Power of Controlled VocabulariesInformation Literacy Class 05: Discovery Searches, Library Catalogs and Journal DatabasesInformation Literacy Class 06: Internet ResearchInformation Literacy Class 07: Other Resources and Case Studies In ResearchInformation Literacy Class 08: Learning How To Read For ResearchInformation Literacy Class 09: Organizing Your Resources To Write Your PaperInformation Literacy Class 10: Tips On Research WritingInformation Literacy Class 11: A Research Paper Clinic
Search TermsWhat is a Database?Internet TipsEvaluating Internet SourcesPopular & ScholarlyPrimary & SecondaryIncorporating SourcesWhy Cite and Citation GuidesVoice MarkersDeciphering Your AssignmentUsing Google ScholarDeconstructing CitationsUsing Wikipedia for Academic ResearchEffective Reading
This is the "Information Literacy Class 05: Discovery Searches, Library Catalogs and Journal Databases" page of the "Springer Learning Center / Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Springer Learning Center / Library  

This is the home page for the Springer Learning Center / Library at Southwestern Christian University. Click Gold Boxes Or Various Web Links Below To Access Learning And Library Resources & Services.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://swcu.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Information Literacy Class 05: Discovery Searches, Library Catalogs and Journal Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Discovery Searches, Library Catalogs and Journal Databases - Study Guide. You Will Need To Read And Apply The Textbook For This Course.

1. What is discovery search?  What are its advantages and disadvantages?

2. In a library catalog, when would you use controlled vocabulary subject headings, and when would you use keywords?

3. How can hierarchies help you when you are searching a library catalog for a topic?

4. Why is it futile to believe that the electronic full text of every book you want will be available to you for free?

5. How are journal databases created, and what are they intended to do?

6. Explain the difference between "data" and "interface".

7. Identify each part of the following journal citation:  

Badke, William. (2010).  Why information literacy is invisible, Communications in Information Literacy 4(2), 129-141.

8. In journal database searching you should be prepared for ____________________.  How does such preparation help you?

9. Why should you resist the urge to fill the search box with words?

10. What are the advantages of thinking before you search?

11. Why is it often better to stage (facet) your search with keywords as well as subject headings and other limiters rather than simply to do a one-stage keyword search?

12. Many journal articles are availablel in electronic "full-text" format.  What are some of the advantages and difficulties with accessing full text?

 

Using The Mandarin Library Catalog System @ SCU

Michael Lowder, Director of Library Services

Profile Image
Michael Lowder
Contact Info
Telephone: 405-789-7661 / x3451
Fax: 405-495-0078
Send Email
 

Academic Journal. Scholarly Article. Article Database.

Go To Online Databases On The SCU Library Website: http://swcu.libguides.com/databases.

 

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

 

Assignment For A Project Of Your Own

1. Choose a topic of interest to you.

2. Choose two journal databases (http://swcu.libguides.com/databases).

3. Do a search for journal articles on your topic with each database.

4. Indicate what subject terms or keywords you used in your searches.

5. List 6 articles from each database that are relevant to your topic - author, data, article title, title of journal, volume number, page numbers.  Be sure the databases you use are relevant to your topic.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip