This is the "Online Databases" page of the "Ethics In Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ethics In Management  

Last Updated: Mar 9, 2017 URL: http://swcu.libguides.com/managerialethics Print Guide

Online Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Business Databases

  • EBSCO BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER
    The industry's most widely used business research database, this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. More than 1,210 active full-text journals and magazines. Nearly 700 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.
  • REGIONAL BUSINESS NEWS
    Incorporates 75 full-text business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
  • EBOOK CENTRAL
    Provides approximately 90,000 e-books in a broad range of subject areas, including business and technology.
  • SMALL BUSINESS REFERENCE CENTER
    This resource offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.
 

How To Search A Database

Determine Your Search Terms & Methods First

Keywords

Flexible terminology & easier to do searches. However, less accurate and may provide too much information or unrelated information . Think of synonyms. Affected by Boolean Operators, Truncation Symbols and punctuation

Subjects

Predetermined rigid terminology & very precise. However, more difficult to use in searches.

Keyword Phrases

Single concept, multiple words. Some electronic resources require keyword phrases be enclosed with punctuation (quotation marks and parenthesis).

Basic phrase, i.e. (computer disk); Proper names , i.e. "Native American"; Hyphenated words, i.e. "x-ray"; Slogans or advertisements, i.e. "kills bugs dead"; Famous quotes, i.e. (to be or not to be); and, Movie or song titles etc., i.e. "Lord of the Rings".

Truncation Symbols Or Wildcards

Non-universal symbols used in searching and used with a root word. Used to replace a vowel or single character. If you wish to search for singular & plural at the same time, a wildcard can replace a vowel or single character in a word taking the place of ‘or’. For example: wom*n would search for woman or women. If searching for multiple endings of a word, a wildcard (research?) would find research, researches, researcher, researchers, researching. 

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators connect keywords only and must be placed between keywords. Narrowing Searches (AND) - Narrows your search; Expanding Searches (OR) - Expands your search with synonymous terms; and, Limiting Searches (NOT) - Excludes words from your search. Use of "not" can work against you if you use it too much.

 

Boolean Searching

Boolean Search Primer

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip